Virginia’s state minimum wage has increased to $11.00 per hour effective on January 1, 2022, which is $3.75 more than the Federal $7.25 minimum wage. Virginia last saw an increase in minimum wage in May of 2021 when Governor Ralph Northam raised the wage to $9.50.
Who does this effect?
This increase impacts all Virginia employees, unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law, i.e., farm workers, seasonal workers, casual babysitters, not-for-profit employees, etc. Read the full list of exemptions here.
Some employees that may have been previously exempt from minimum wage may now be covered as eligible employees. These include:
- Domestic Service Employees
- Companions, cooks, waiters, butlers, maids, valets, and chauffeurs
- Home Care Providers
- Babysitters who work more than 10 hours per week
The Virginia minimum wage is slated to reach $15.00 per hour by January 1, 2026, with the following schedule: January 1, 2023 – $12.00; January 1, 2025 – $13.50; January 1, 2026 – $15.00.
We’re here to help
For any questions regarding the changes to Virginia’s minimum wage and how this affects you and your organization, please feel free to contact us.